Board of Trustees | Depaulcharity

Depaul helps people who are homeless or at risk of homelessness.

Board of Trustees

Depaul's voluntary Board of Trustees is made of people with a range of skills and expertise in the commercial and voluntary sectors and is committed to ensuring that Depaul is fully compliant with all relevant regulation and adopts best practice in managing services for the disadvantaged.


Archbishop Diarmuid Martin

Depaul Board Members

FRANK ALLEN is Chair of Depaul Ireland and Depaul Northern Ireland. He is also a Trustee of Depaul International. Frank is an independent consultant on infrastructure finance and management, advising clients such as the World Bank on improving infrastructure performance. He is a member of the Board and Audit Committee of Iarnród Éireann/Irish Rail and was Chief Executive of the Railway Procurement Agency (Luas) from 2002 to 2012.

CORMAC Ó TIGHEARNAIGH holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from University College Dublin and is a chartered accountant. He is the CFO of Jurys Inn and sits on the company's Board of Directors. He has acted as a trustee and treasurer of Depaul Ireland since January 2011 and chairs the Finance & Development sub-committee.

SR GORETTI BUTLER DC (ROI) Born near Clonmel Co. Tipperary and the eldest of four children. Sr Goretti first encountered the Daughters of Charity when she went to St. Vincent's, Navan Road to work for the summer holidays while at school. A year after completing secondary school she joined the Daughters of Charity. She is currently the provincial of the Daughters of Charity and having previously held a number of roles working with children, including as the Director of Services for Daughters of Charity Child and Family Services. Sr Goretti is a member of the Services and Personnel sub-committee of the board of Depaul Ireland.

VERY REV PASCHAL SCALLON CM has been appointed Provincial of the Irish Province of the Vincentian Community.  He is a member of the Vincentian Community, the Congregation of the Mission, founded by St Vincent De Paul. He is currently working as Parish Priest in St Peter's, Phibsborough in Dublin.

DOMINIC BURKE is now retired from his position as Director of Social Services in the Western Health and Social Services Board (WHSSB) in Northern Ireland. Dominic is a member of the Society of St Vincent de Paul and currently a member of a conference in Derry where he visits local families to provide support and assistance.

PAUL STANLEY is the Chief Financial Officer of UIster Bank and he has been in that role since August 2013. Previously Paul was the Acting CFO for AIB and a member of AIB's Leadership Team from 2011. Paul has extensive banking experience and spent 3 years working in Poland.

PAUL WHITE is a law graduate from University College Dublin and is a practising solicitor. Paul has previously acted as a trustee of Depaul Ireland and is a member of Depaul Ireland's Fundraising and Communications sub-committee.

MICHAEL MURPHY was nominated as a trustee in September 2015 by National Management Council of the Society of St Vincent de Paul. Michael has been a member of SVdeP since 1980 and was Regional President Mid West Region from 2010-2015. Currently he is National Vice President with responsibility for Specialist Services including Hostels and Social Housing. Michael continues to be an active member of St Mary's Parish visitation conference in Limerick city. He retired in 2012 after 43 years in banking.

PADDIE BLANEY is now retired from her position as Director of All Ireland Institute of Hospice and Palliative Care (AIIHPC). She was previously a Nurse Consultant with the International Council of Nurses (ICN) and prior to that Chief Executive of the Northern Ireland Practice and Education Council for Nursing and Midwifery (NIPEC). Paddie has more than 35 years’ experience across the health and social care field. She began her career as a registered nurse working in a variety of clinical fields, later working as a Nursing Officer at the mDepartment of Health and Social Services.NORA 

JOHN MURPHY has over 40 years experience as a Civil Servant across six Government Departments, culminating in his appointment as Secretary General of the Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation from November 2011 to his retirement from the Civil Service at end September 2016. John has extensive experience of working at the most senior levels of Government on the development and implementation of public policy and has extensive experience of management of relations with a wide range of stakeholders in the public policy domain. He is a member of the Board of the Irish Management Institute and of the Institute of Directors. He has served as a member of the Board of the IDA (2015-2016), alongisde various other board member positions throughout his career. John has an MSc (Econ) in Public Policy Studies from University of Dublin (Trinity College), A BA in History and Politics from UCD and a Diploma in Public Administration from the Institute of Public Administration, (IPA) Dublin. John is married to Anne and has three daughters.

LARRY TUOMEY is Secretary of the Board and is a member of the world governing council of the Society of St Vincent de Paul and a Trustee of a number of Irish NGOs concerned with immigrants, community development and social justice. He is Hon. Treasurer of Depaul International. Larry sits on a number of Depaul Ireland sub-committees and chairs the Fundraising and Communications sub-committee.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We do not share your information with any third parties. You can disable cookies in your browser but please note this may prevent some parts of our site from functioning correctly.